Detachment of New Jersey

Son of the Year

Nicholas Wingler

Updated June 15, 2018

At the 2018 Detachment Convention I was named the 2017 - 2018 Detachment of New Jersey Son of The Year. I wish to thank the Detachment for bestowing on me this high honor. I was also asked to chair the Son of The Year committee by Comdr. Hicks. I will work hard to get all of the information out to the members by January. I ask every squadron to look around your own Post home. Every Squadron has that member who goes above and beyond any other and that is who we want to recognize. So Please when the paperwork arrives early next year put in your squadrons nomination for Son of The Year you never know the best of the best just may be right in your own home post. The dead line will be in the Beginning of April and when available the application will be available here under forms

Nicholas J. Wingler Son of The Year Chairman 2018-2019

The Sons of the American Legion Detachment of New Jersey

Son of the Year Recipients

2002 – Sean Howarth Squadron 72 Camden County

2003 – Gary Crawford Squadron 346 Monmouth County

2004 – Frank Keilti Squadron 72 Camden County

2005 – Dan DeRose Squadron 415 Bergin County *Deceased*

2006 – Thomas Marsden Squadron 348 Ocean County

2007 – Gary Nelson Squadron 365 Bergin County

2008 – Michael Popp Squadron 455 Ocean County *Deceased*

2009 – Don Sikorski Squadron 129 Ocean County *Deceased*

2010 – Dave Page Squadron 455 Ocean County

2011 – Andrew Malson Squadron 252 Gloucester County

2012 – Ron Cloos Squadron 129 Ocean County *Deceased*

2013 – Thomas Flaherty Squadron 310 Bergin County

2014 – George Platoni Squadron 1 Bergin County

2015 – Jack Murray Squadron 455 Ocean County

2016 – Matt Thalasinos Squadron 232 Ocean County

2017 – William Weinberg Squadron 3 Union County 

2018 - Nicholas J. Wingler Squadron 166 Ocean County